GETTING YOUR NEVADA
This chapter explains what is necessary to obtain a Nevada driver’s license, the tests you are required to take, the DMV’s license classification system and other general information about Nevada’s requirements.
You need a Nevada driver’s license if you live or work in Nevada (with the exception of border state employees or military members stationed in Nevada) and want to drive on Nevada streets and highways. Drivers moving into Nevada from another state must apply for a license within 30 days after becoming a resident.
To get a Nevada license, you will need to complete an application form and visit your local fullservice DMV office. You must also be at least 16 years old and provide proof of your full legal name, age, Social Security number if one has been issued to you, and Nevada residency. A Social Security number is not necessary to obtain a Driver Authorization Card (DAC).
A first-time Nevada driver’s license issued to persons under age 65 will be valid for eight years and expires on your birthday unless limited-term immigration documents are presented as evidence of your name and date of birth. If limited-term immigration documents are used, the expiration of your driver’s license will coincide with the departure date that is electronically verified by the Department of Homeland Security (DHS), or one year if no date is provided by DHS. At no time will a driver’s license
or identification card be valid for more than eight years (NRS 483.290).
Driver’s licenses for individuals age 65 and older are valid for four years. Identification cards are valid for eight years.
If you are under 18 years old, a parent who has custody, a legal guardian or other person authorized by NRS 483.300 must co-sign your application. The co-signer shares liability for any damages caused by the minor’s negligence or willful misconduct while driving.
New Nevada Residents
A resident of Nevada may hold only one driver’s license or identification card. If you have a license or
identification card from another jurisdiction (this includes the 50 United States and its territories and
foreign countries), you must surrender it to get a Nevada license or identification card. All surrendered
licenses and identification cards will be voided and returned to you
Your vision will be tested when you apply for your Nevada driver’s license. All other tests may be waived
if all of these criteria apply:
• You have had fewer than 3 moving violations in the past 4 years, and have not had your license
suspended, revoked or cancelled.
• You have had no DUI convictions within the past 7 years.
• You have no restrictions to your driving privilege that require evaluation.
• You have a valid license from another state of the same license class for which you are applying
• You are age 21 or older.
You do not need a Nevada license if you are:
• An active-duty member of the U.S. Armed Forces and you have a valid license from your home
• A non-resident, such as an out-of-state student, tourist or seasonal resident. But, if you want to
drive in Nevada, you must be at least 16 years old, have a valid license from your home state
and comply with Nevada traffic and financial responsibility law
Note: All driver records are checked through the national Problem Driver Pointer System and the
Commercial Driver’s License Information System. If your driving privilege is currently suspended,
revoked, cancelled or denied in another state, you will not be allowed a Nevada license until the out-ofstate
issue is resolved. You may qualify for an identification card during this period
See Chapter 11 on vehicle registration for information on obtaining your Nevada license plates.
Driving licence in the United Kingdom
In the United Kingdom, a driving licence is the official document which authorises its holder to operate motor vehicles on highways and other public roads. It is administered in England, Scotland and Wales by the Driver and Vehicle Licensing Agency (DVLA) and in Northern Ireland by the Driver & Vehicle Agency (DVA). A driving licence is required in England, Scotland, and Wales for any person driving a vehicle on any highway or other "road", as defined in s.192 Road Traffic Act 1988, irrespective of the ownership of the land over which the road passes. Similar requirements apply in Northern Ireland under the Road Traffic (Northern Ireland) Order 1981. As long as Great Britain and Northern Ireland remains within the European Union, a UK driving licence is a European driving licence.
As UK nationals do not normally have identity cards, a photographic driving licence can serve many of the purposes of an identity card in non-driving contexts, such as proof of identity (e.g. when opening a bank account) or of age (e.g. when buying age-restricted goods such as alcohol).
Provisional licences and learner drivers
Applications for a provisional driving licence can be made in the UK from the age of 15 years and 9 months. Once a United Kingdom driving test has been passed, the driving licence is valid for driving a moped or light quad bike from age 16, and a car from age 17, or 16 for those who receive, or have applied for, the higher or enhanced rate of the mobility component of PIP or DLA. A driving test consists of three sections: theory, hazard perception and a supervised driving examination. Until this test has been passed, a driver may hold only a provisional licence and is subject to certain conditions.
The conditions attached to provisional licences for a particular category of vehicle are:
- L-plates or (in Wales only) D-plates (Welsh: Dysgwr) must be conspicuously displayed on the front and rear of the vehicle.
- Learner drivers of a particular category and transmission type of vehicle must be accompanied by somebody aged 21 or above who has held a full driving licence for that category and transmission type for at least three years, except in the case of solo motorcycles and vehicles of certain categories designed solely for one person.
- No trailer may be towed, except when driving a tractor or where a full licence gives provisional entitlement to drive a car with trailer, large goods vehicle with trailer or passenger carrying vehicle with trailer.
- Motorcycle riders must not carry any pillion passengers.
- Coach or bus drivers must not carry any passenger except a person giving or receiving instruction.
- Motorways must not be used by holders of car and motorcycle provisional licences, excluding category B (car) licence holders who are learner drivers for the purposes of the trailer category BE, or unless supervised by an Approved Driving Instructor
In Northern Ireland, learner drivers are limited to a speed of 45 mph (72 km/h), and drivers who have passed their test within the previous year must display R plates (restricted) and are also limited to a speed of 45 mph (72 km/h) until the expiry of the restricted period. R plates are similar in style to L plates, with a thick-set dark orange R displayed on a white background.
After passing a driving test, the provisional licence may be surrendered within two years in exchange for a full UK licence for the relevant kind of vehicle. Full car licences allow use of mopeds and motorcycles provided a CBT (Compulsory Basic Training) course is completed (the requirement to have a CBT in Northern Ireland was introduced on 21 February 2011).
Newly qualified drivers
There are no restrictions on newly qualified drivers in England, Wales or Scotland, but if a newly qualified driver receives six penalty points within two years of passing, the licence is automatically revoked and the driver must pass the full test again. These six points remain on the new licence until their designated expiry time.
The rules on what a driver can tow are different depending on when they passed their driving test. If they passed their car driving test on or after 1 January 1997, they may drive a car or van up to 3,500 kg maximum authorised mass (MAM) towing a trailer of up to 750 kg MAM, and they may tow a trailer over 750 kg MAM as long as the combined MAM of the trailer and towing vehicle is no more than 3,500 kg MAM when loaded. They must pass the car and trailer driving test to tow anything heavier. If a driver passed their car test before 1 January 1997, they are usually allowed to drive a vehicle and trailer combination up to 8,250 kg MAM. They are also allowed to drive a minibus with a trailer over 750 kg MAM.
Motor car licences issued in the United Kingdom distinguish between automatic and manual transmission vehicles, depending on whether or not a driving test was passed in a vehicle with manual transmission (unless a vehicle test was taken in the UK before such distinction was made). While a manual transmission vehicle licence permits the holder to drive a vehicle of either kind, an automatic transmission vehicle licence is solely for vehicles with automatic transmission. The licence also shows whether a driver requires glasses or contact lenses to meet the legal driving requirements, if known.
Drivers who obtained rights to drive category D1 minibuses before 1997 (by passing a test for the obsolete class A) must not drive such vehicles for hire or reward, nor accept any form of payment in money, goods or kind from any passengers carried.
There is no maximum age for driving or holding a driving licence, but holders must renew their licences at age 70 and every three years thereafter, at which times they must self-certify their continued fitness to drive.
Forklift trucks require a separate licence, issued by third-party training companies rather than the DVLA or DSA.
The Union Flag has been included on UK licences since July 2015.
Learn More from the Experts
I was truly impressed and pleased with the level of professionalism and quality of the service.
The customer service was outstanding! I really appreciate what you have done and will strongly recommend.
Couldn’t have asked for a better experience. I will definitely be coming back. Thank you for existing!